Skip to Content

Spotlight Gallery

Featuring rotating exhibits by Vermont artists, the Council's gallery is located in the corridor and conference room of the offices at 136 State Street in Montpelier. The space is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m.- 4:30 p.m. with the corridor available every day. The conference room is closed Tuesdays until noon, and at other times when the room is occupied. (Feel free to call 802.828.3291 to see if the entire show is available when you plan to visit.)

Visit during Montpelier Art Walk: February 1, 4-7 p.m.

Jackson Tupper's "Moods."

Vermont Artists to Watch 2019

The Vermont Art Guide, in partnership with Vermont Arts Council, presents a survey of contemporary Vermont art in exhibition and print. The survey appears as a special feature in "Vermont Art Guide #9" and as an exhibition at the Vermont Arts Council. Exhibition curator and Vermont Art Guide Editor Ric Kasini Kadour recruited nine additional Vermont art professionals and asked them to nominate artists who are making contemporary Vermont art that commands our attention.

The curators who selected artists are: Sophie Bréchu-West, Director, 571 Projects; August Burns, independent artist and curator; Joshua Farr, executive director, Vermont Center for Photography; Jamie Franklin, curator of collections, Bennington Museum; Anna-Maria Hand, gallery director, Southern Vermont Arts Center; Kelly Holt, artist and independent curator; Ric Kasini Kadour, artist, writer, and culture worker; Rachel Moore, executive director, Helen Day Art Center; Mickey Myers, executive director, Bryan Memorial Gallery; Andrea Rosen, curator, Fleming Museum.

Ric explains, "The deeper purpose of Vermont Artists to Watch goes beyond a magazine feature, an exhibition, and artist boosterism. The goal is to reframe how artists are seen by society and promote engagement with visual art. The more we reinforce the notion that legitimate, quality work is being made in the state—art that speaks for and to us—the more likely the general public will be enthusiastic and seek out art. For art to work its magic in our communities, it needs to be seen and it needs to be engaged."

The selected artists are: Sarah Amos (Enosburg Falls); Clark Derbes (Charlotte); Hasso Ewing (Calais); Andrew Frost (Burlington); Sally Gil (Brooklyn, NY); Sean Hunter Williams (Montpelier); Elizabeth Nagle (East Dorset); Andrew Orr (Richford); Rhonda Ratray (North Bennington); and Jackson Tupper (Burlington). Read more about each.

Through February 28.

Past Shows

Read more about past shows.

7 Women 7 Walls

Macaulay in Montpelier

New American Artists

Curator Ric Kasini Kadour

Caroline Tavelli-Abar

The Family Portrait Project

Curator Ric Kasini Kadour

Laura Jane Walker

Kathy Stark

Katie Runde

Elizabeth Nelson

Amanda Amend

Gabriel Tempesta

Dianne Shullenberger

Caryn King

Works by GRACE artists

Nancy Tomczak

Hannah Morris

Jonathan VanTassel

Nick Neddo

Bhakti Ziek

Tony Conner

Art Costa

Piper Strong

Diane Donovan

Jeff Clarke

Alexis Kyriak

Janet Fredericks

Robert Gold