Skip to Content

Looks like you're using an outdated browser!

For the best experience browsing our site, please use a modern web browser such as Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Past Years of Poetry Out Loud

POL 2021

The state competition showcase aired the evening of March 15 on Vermont PBS' OVEE platform. Actor Andy Butterfield hosted as the audience watched one recitation video from each student, and our panel of six local poet judges made appearances. The 2021 state champion and runner-up were announced, as well as the participants with the five highest cumulative scores, and the winners of this year's Original Poetry Awards. A recording of the event is available on the Arts Council’s YouTube channel.

State Champion: Irén Hangen Vázquez, Burr and Burton Academy

Runner-up: Gavin Ghafoori, St. Johnsbury Academy

After Vázquez and Ghafoori, the next highest scorers were Grace Brink from Williamstown Middle High School, Mollie Allen from South Burlington High School, and Greta Alexandra-Parker from Rice Memorial High School.

Original Poetry Award Winners

  • Samantha Aikman from Mt. Mansfield Union High School for her poem "Undone". Aikman was also a writing award winner in 2020.
  • Brooks Balkan from South Burlington High School for his poem "One Night in the Barn"
  • Talia Gibbs from Vermont Commons School for her poem "Fun-size"
  • Beniamino Nardin from Harwood Union High School for his poem "That Which Darkens"

All School Champions

Owen Biniecki, Bellows Free Academy; Hazel Kinnersly, Brattleboro Union High School; Irén Hangen Vázquez, Burr and Burton Academy; Mary Amsbary, Champlain Valley Union High School; Lilith Demers, Hazen Union High School; Nuala Dougherty, Mount Mansfield Union High School; Greta Alexandra-Parker, Rice Memorial High School; Mollie Allen, South Burlington High School; Emily LaRose, Spaulding High School; Gavin Ghafoori, St. Johnsbury Academy; Benji Richards, Stratton Mountain School; Eloise Silver Van Meter, Thetford Academy; Thelonious Shores, U-32 Middle High School; Gary Zhu, Vermont Academy; Adelie Tebbetts, Vermont Commons; Grace Brink, Williamstown Middle High School