Skip to Content

Looks like you're using an outdated browser!

For the best experience browsing our site, please use a modern web browser such as Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Arts Calendar: Literary Arts in Southern Vermont

Date

Region

Category

Monday, October 14, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Saturday, October 19, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Oct
21
2019

The Dog Went Over the Mountain - An Evening with Peter Zheutlin

The Dog Went Over the Mountain - An Evening with Peter Zheutlin

Peter Zheutlin's latest book, The Dog Went Over the Mountain, will be released in September. Here's what Peter had to say about the book:

"Inspired by a re-reading of John Steinbeck’s Travels with Charley at the age of 64, I took my aging rescue dog Albie on a 9,000 mile odyssey across America in the Spring of 2018, mostly along Steinbeck’s route. With far more sand in the bottom of my hourglass than the top, I wanted to take one last Great American Road Trip and rediscover the country I last crossed by car in 1977, this time in the company of my best friend.

This journey is the subject of my eighth book, The Dog Went Over the Mountain, to be published in early September 2019 by Pegasus Books. The book actually opens in Bennington, on our very last night on the road before returning home near Boston."

Peter will be joining us for an evening of reading and anecdotes - be sure not to miss this event! There will be opportunities for questions and book signing. We will have books for sale at the event, or order them ahead of time at the bookshop.

This event is free and open to the public.

Co-sponsored by the Bennington Free Library and The Bennington Bookshop.

10/21/19 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Bennington Free Library, Bennington

Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Saturday, October 26, 2019
Oct
26
2019

Room on the Broom

Room on the Broom

Room on the Broom is a half hour animated film based on the wonderful children's picture book written by Julia Donaldson and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. Room on the Broom is a magical tale about friendship and family from Magic Light Pictures, the producers of the hugely successful The Gruffalo and The Gruffalo's Child.

ABOUT ROOM ON THE BROOM
The witch and her cat are happily flying through the sky on a broomstick when the wind picks up and blows away the witch’s hat, then her bow, and then her wand! Luckily, three helpful animals find the missing items, and all they want in return is a ride on the broom. But is there room on the broom for so many friends? And when disaster strikes, will they be able to save the witch from a hungry dragon?

PUMPKIN DECORATING WORKSHOP to follow the movie! $5 materials fee for Pumpkin Arts & Crafts Workshop (following the film)

10/26/19 10:00am - 11:00am

ArtisTree Community Arts Center, South Pomfret

Monday, October 28, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019