Skip to Content

Arthur Williams Award for Meritorious Service to the Arts

Arthur Williams (1926-2013)


Selected by the staff of the Vermont Arts Council, this award is given to a person or organization for meritorious service to the arts in Vermont, according to the following criteria:

  • has a local or statewide reputation in their chosen field as evidenced by third-party acclaim or reviews from independent sources

  • has significant standing in a Vermont community

  • is nominated by at least one non-Arts Council staff or board member


Judith Chalmer
, author, retired director VSA Arts, Burlington

Gregory Sharrow,
folklorist at Vermont Folklife Center, Middlebury

Stephen Rice, music educator, Brattleboro

Gary Eckhart, president of Valley Arts Foundation, Waitsfield | video

Jody Fried, executive director of Catamount Arts, St. Johnsbury

Bruce Bouchard, executive director of the Paramount Theater, Rutland
Carol Driscoll, executive director of the Carving Studio, Rutland

Connecticut River Artisan Group
Vermont Crafts Council

Steve Ames, executive director at River Arts, Morrisville

Submit a Nomination

  • submit a nomination online

  • send a letter of recommendation to 136 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633, or

  • send an email to the Council with "Award Nomination" in the subject line. Include your name and contact information, why you feel the candidate is deserving of recognition, and—if known—the name of anyone else who is nominating or has nominated the candidate

Nominations for 2019 awards must be received by March 31, 2019.