Skip to Content

Margaret L. (Peggy) Kannenstine Award for Arts Advocacy

Margaret L. (Peggy) Kannenstine


Selected by the Council, the Kannenstine Award for Arts Advocacy may be awarded to Vermonters committed to furthering the arts in fields such as accessibility, administration, education, mentoring, philanthropy, production, wellness, and others who:

  • currently reside in Vermont
  • have a statewide, regional (New England), or national reputation as evidenced by third party acclaim or reviews from independent sources
  • have a significant body of work and/or record of service available for review by the Council
  • are nominated by at least one non-Arts Council staff or board member


Allison Coyne Carroll
, director of Middlebury College's Performing Arts Series

Cornelia Carey
, director of CERF+, founder of the National Coalition for Arts Preparedness and Emergency Response

Robert McBride,
founder and director of Rockingham Arts and Museum Project (RAMP)

John Killacky,
director of Flynn Center for the Performing Arts

Submit a Nomination

  • submit a nomination online

  • send a letter of recommendation to 136 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633, or

  • send an email to the Council with "Award Nomination" in the subject line. Include your name and contact information, why you feel the candidate is deserving of recognition, and—if known—the name of anyone else who is nominating or has nominated the candidate

Nominations for 2019 awards must be received by March 31, 2019.